The “Meanings” of Christianity: Righteousness

Righteousness. What a confusing and misunderstood word. We use it and use it over and over again without much critical thought as to what it means. Thanks to our traditional focus on personal piety, this word has taken on overtones of a personal experience. One is righteous if they are upright, pure, above reproach in their personal morality. Clearly that is part of what makes someone righteous, but it ignores a whole side of the word that is of utmost importance, perhaps of even more importance than this personal side of the word. 

What would you say if I were to tell you that in the New Testament, righteousness and justice are one and the same? Would that change how you understand this word?

In all honesty, this is a uniquely English problem. If you read the Bible in many other languages, there is no word for righteousness, a word that for us deals with personal piety and piousness. Instead, whenever we read righteousness in the Bible, other languages translate to the corresponding word for justice. Take for instance this well known beatitude of Jesus from the Sermon on the Mount in Matthew 5:

Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied.

How, I wonder, does the verse change if we were to hear it like it is read in many other languages?

Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for justice, for they shall be satisfied.

To me, justice is a much more holistic word. It not only has to do with my personal piety, but it deals with how I relate to and live with every other person who surrounds me. Justice reminds me that to be righteous I must treat others with love, respect, and forgiveness. It’s not about me, but how I relate to others.

Maybe our understanding of righteousness stems from our individualistic culture. We’ve so individualized Christianity that we fail to realize the corporeality of the Gospel. The Gospel isn’t simply about me and my personal relationship with God. It isn’t only about restoring me to God. That is part of it, but it’s also about restoring my relationship with those who surround me, my friends and my enemies. For that to happen we have to live lives of repentance, forgiveness, and justice. I have to repent of wrongdoing, forgive when I’m sinned against, and learn how to live justly, righteously, with my brothers and sisters in Christ.

It doesn’t end there, however, because my justice, my righteousness doesn’t end with my fellow believers but extends to all people, because I’m called to love them as God does, unconditionally.

So this is my challenge to us all: As we read the Bible, and as we come across the word righteousness, replace it with justice. May that help us to see the fullness of what that word ought to mean.

______________________________

Like this reflection? It’s part of a series on the meanings of the words we use. You can find the other blogs of this series here.

Categories: Theological Reflections | Tags: , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “The “Meanings” of Christianity: Righteousness

  1. Good thoughts. I would say that it is not possible to righteous if you do not exhibit justice. But it is possible to seek justice in unrighteous ways (vindictive or vigilante justice). How do you reconcile justice as the same as righteousness with the understanding that one can seek justice in unrighteous ways?

    • Blake Hart

      Thanks for the feedback. As to the question: I would contend that justice done in unrighteous, or unjust, ways is not justice. To me, justice should be the restoration of right relationships. Therefore, if I am acting vindictively or vengefully, I’m not acting justly nor am I working for justice. I realize that this implicates much of what our society calls ‘justice’ as ‘unjust’ because it focuses on punishment rather than restoration. To me justice, righteousness is living in just, right relationships with all people and the actions necessary to arrive at that point.

      Thanks for the thoughts and conversation!

      • That makes a lot of sense. And it goes along with what I have heard about holiness. We tend to think of holiness as a lack of sin but God was holy before sin existed so holiness can not be related to sin. Instead holiness is being in right relationship (for us with God and with others) and, as the trinity, God has always been in right relationship and thus has always been holy. So holiness, righteousness, justice – they all have to do with relationship.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

